All About ISTQB Certified Tester

The ISTQB Certified Tester is the standardized qualification scheme given to  software testers.  It is a certification program that is offered by  the ISTQB (International Software Testing Qualifications Board).  It is a  multiple-choice exam where  questions are based on ISTQB syllabus designed  for each level of ISTQB Certifications.  The following are the ISTQB Certified Tester Certifications:
1. Foundation Level (CTFL)
2. Advanced Level –  designed for Test Manager
3. Advanced Level – designed for Functional Tester
4. Advanced Level – designed for Technical Tester
5. Advanced Level (CTAL) – Full Advanced Level (after passing the above exams of Advanced Level)
6. Expert Level

The Certification has lifetime validity and there is no re-certification necessary.  It is the testing boards responisbility of ensuring the quality and  auditing of the examination.  Inasmuch as ISTQB is international or worldwide, there are 38 participating countries each having their corresponding testing boards. For example in the USA, the testing board is the ASTQB also known as the American Software Testing Qualifications Board.   The exam fee to take the ISTQB Certified Tester for Foundation Level and Advanced Level (each component ) in the USA, costs $250 and $200 respectively.

To register for the ISTQB Certied Tester Exam is  to visit the ISTQB website to know details on how the test is given to your country.  You will be required to fill up a registration form that can be downloaded over the internet, and submit the forms together with the applicable fees two days before the Foundation Level exam date or at least two weeks before the Advanced Level exam date.

Recommended For You

Leave a Reply