Choosing the Model of Change Management in your Organization
This best-selling Change Management Toolkit delivers to you and your organization a breakthrough, easy-to-follow guide on how to manage and implement change 


As business grows, business organizations are faced with
challenges and change needs to be undertaken to keep pace
with the competitive market.  To handle change management
would depend on how leaders would want change to be
implemented. The following are the different models of

1.Lewin’s model.  This model is a three stage process
of: the unfreezing, changing and re-freezing.
Unfreezing is the stage where level of dissatisfaction
is created with the present set up and conditions to
change is establish.  Changing is the second stage
where organizing and mobilizing of resources are
required to implement change. Re-freezing is the
third stage where the new ways are brought to the
organization for implementation.
2.Beer’s model.  This model prescribes six step
processes to effect change management.  Focus is on
task alignment wherein employees’ roles,
responsibilities and relationships are viewed as key
in bringing enforcement to the changed ways of thinking,
attitudes and behaving. The stages are:

a.Commitment to mobilization of change by means of
joint diagnosis
b.Development of shared vision as to organizing
c.Draw consensus, competence and commitment to shared
d.Inform change to everyone
e.Establish formal policies to institutionalize
f.Monitor and adjust change if necessary

3.Shaw’s model.  This model tends to see change
as complex and evolutionary.  In this model the
environment of an organization does not have
equilibrium.  Thus, the need to change is inherent
in the system and emerges when the system tries to
adapt to the environment.  Change mechanism in the
organization is likely to be messy.

The different models of change management aim to help
leaders in assessing the type of change needed to
ultimately achieve success.

Recommended For You

Leave a Reply