The Structure of the CMM Process

Developing a pretty good software requires a lot of processes, making it very difficult to carry out. It will require much of your time and effort, searching for ways on how to conceptualize, develop and eventually improve it. There were a lot of proposed solutions that aim to develop a quality project on time, while still within the organization’s budget. One of the sophisticated approaches in software development is the Capability Maturity Model or CMM. It is originally developed by the Software Engineering Institute (SEI) as a process improvement technique in software development. It later on became Capability Maturity Model Integration or CMMI to improve the use of maturity models in software engineering and other disciplines.

Currently, the CMM process structure involves 5 key aspects and these are the following:

(a) Maturity Levels
A five-level continuum was devised culminating the discipline needed in continuous process improvement and these are Initial, Repeatable, Defined, Managed and Optimized.

(b) Key Process Areas
A Key Process Area or KPA categorizes a group of related activities that aims achieve important set of goals when performed collectively. Some of these KPAs include project management, engineering and process management.

(c) Goals
The goals indicate the boundaries, scope and intent of each KPA.

(d) Common Features
There are five types of common features and these are Commitment to Perform, Ability to Perform, Activities Performed, Measurement and Analysis, and Verifying Implementation. These are the practices that institutionalize and implement a KPA.

(e) Key Practices
Key practices are infrastructure elements and practice that contribute to the effective implementation of a KPA.

Indeed, CMM has a lot to offer and organizations must take advantage of such process improvement initiative to eventually achieve business objectives.

Recommended For You

Leave a Reply