It’s getting closer… the release of the new ITIL® V3 Capability  and Lifecycle Modules, that is.  There has been a lot of hype around this “impending release” – though not as much hoo ha as the launch of the new Apple 3G Iphone (that redefined the concept of the 2nd coming!!!!)



As far as we have been told, the exams are available for releases sometime Mid October.  This means that we are able to start offering these programs from that date…. So get ready.. The Capability Modules are replacing the old V2 Practitioner programs.  And about time too, I say.   I have seen and shared the frustrations from IT staff who want to continue to develop their V3 knowledge, and really start to really value add for their business, just as the V3 Service  lifecycle model intended…


Now, before you get too excited, it’s only some of the Capability and Lifecycle modules:

Lifecycle Modules –  Service Transition, Service Operation

Capability modules: Service Offerings & Agreements (the new IPAD), Operational Support & Analysis (the new IPSR), Release, Control & Validation (the new          IPRC)

Others will be released shortly after…January…


Keep a close eye on our training calendar for dates..

My advice – put in a Professional Development form NOW!!!


Till next time Cheers from the ITIL® Australia Team at The Art of Service



One way of ensuring that software companies are capable of delivering service with quality is by knowing the maturity level of their organization.  A maturity level is based on the capability of software developers in their ability to develop software.  Software companies follow a standard of process in the development, testing and software application; and rules for appearance of final program code, components, interfaces, etc.  These standards are applied using the Capability Maturity Model (CMM).  The CMM is the model of process maturity for software development.

The CMM has 5 levels, which are defined based on process capability.  The model shows the organizational maturity of software developers as it moves to next level towards a disciplined, measured, and continuously improving software process.  The levels are the following:
1. Initial level.  The development of quality software depends entirely on the manager’s personal approach and the programmers’ experience.  This means that a project’s success can be repeated by same set of managers and programmers.
2. Repeatable level. The project planning and management is based on experience earned in the past. This level may have tendency to roll back on initial level.
3. Defined level. The standards for the processes of software development and maintenance are introduced and documented (including project management) under this level.
4. Managed level. Quantitative indices (for both software and process as a whole) established in the organization.
5. Optimizing level. Improvement procedures are carried out both involving processing and evaluation of new technologies introduce.

It is important that software developers are able to deliver the service as required on time.  After all, it is just fair that companies gets their money’s worth.

Categories: News