The processes included with the Service Design lifecycle phase are:

  • Service Level Management
  • Capacity Management
  • Availability Management
  • IT Service Continuity Management
  • Information Security Management
  • Supplier Management
  • Service Catalog Management.

It is important to note that many of the activities from these processes will occur in other lifecycle phases, especially Service Operation. Additionally, Service Level Management also plays an important role in Continual Service Improvement.

Like all ITIL® processes, the level to which the Service Design processes are required to be implemented will depend on many factors, including:

  • The complexity and culture of the organization
  • The relative size, complexity and maturity of the IT infrastructure
  • The type of business and associated customers being served by IT
  • The number of services, customers and end users involved
  • Regulations and compliance factors affecting the business or IT
  • The use of outsourcing and external suppliers for small or large portions of the overall IT Service Delivery.

Based on these influencing factors, the SOA team may comprise of a single person in a small IT department, or a worldwide network of business and customer oriented groups in an international organization.

Categories: News