Your knowledge of information technology is not enough if you aim to work for IT Service Management. Inasmuch as IT Infrastructure Library (ITIL®) covers the best practices recommendations with definitions and terminology, it is known to be widely accepted strategy in IT Service Management.  ITIL® covers the areas of Incident Management, Problem Management, Change Management, Release Management and the Service Desk. In order for you or your company to be engage in an IT Service Management there are comprehensive qualifications schemes, accredited training and implementation and assessment tools that you need to acquire prior to recognition.  You would need an ITIL® Certification.

An ITIL® certification validates your understanding of ITIL® concepts and terminology.  You or your company may have acquired a certification showing that you have gained mastery of the covered topics of your course area. The certification is recognized worldwide. 

To obtain an ITIL® certification is to take a one-hour examination after attendance to ITIL® training.  Accredited ITIL® training centers conduct the training for a fee and once the attendee passed the examination, an ITIL® Certification is issued.  The ITIL® Certification is issued by accredited training centers through the Information Systems Examination Board (ISEB) based in the UK or EXIN based in the Netherlands. 

Individuals seeking a job in IT service management may whine about the need for getting an ITIL® Certification as some believe that a certification is not an indicator of ability.  But they should take note that ITIL® Certification is what many recruiters use to screen applicant’s resumes, which narrows down the list of applicants to a manageable size.  Get your ITIL® Certification to make a difference.

Your abilities and skills are visible as you perform but it is always best that it is accompanied by evidence that you are indeed skilled.  A certificate is one of the evidences that support your acquired skills.   In the IT service management recruitment and selection of personnel, an individual with an ITIL® certificate has an edge over those applicants with no ITIL® certificate. The selection is trimmed down to a manageable size and those who have thorough understanding in ITIL® service management are selected.

There are three levels for which an individual can obtain an ITIL® Certifications:

1.  Foundation Certificate.  This certificate supports the
     individual level of foundation in IT Service Management. 
     Its objective is to be aware of the best practices level for
     IT Service Management, as stated in the IT Infrastructure
     Library (ITIL®). This certificate is issued to mean that the
     individual has full understanding of the terminologies used
     within ITIL®.
2.  Practitioner’s Certificate.   This certificate is issued to those
     who are responsible within the organization in the design
     of specific processes within the IT Service Management
     discipline.  It is issued to those who had in depth focus
     understanding and application of the IT Service
     management subjects, with defined specialization.
3.  Manager’s Certificate.  This certificate is issued to those
     who exhibit the capability for managing an ITIL®-based
     environment and is prepared to handle problems with
     ITIL®-based solutions.

ITIL® jobs are so much in demand and compensation is really attractive.  Invest your money on ITIL® learning and get a return of investment in three folds.

Categories: News

Related Posts



  This ITIL report evaluates technologies and applications in terms of their business impact, adoption rate and maturity level to help users decide where and when to invest. The Predictive Analytics Scores below – ordered Read more…



Read online and subscribe to Predictive Analytics Email Updates HERE You can have a say in which analytics you need in which timeframe: simply add your (anonymous) need to the list at and we Read more…



  This Storage Technologies report evaluates technologies and applications in terms of their business impact, adoption rate and maturity level to help users decide where and when to invest. This predictive analytics evaluates 36 storage-related Read more…