In 1996, ISACA and ITGI introduced CobiT (Control Objectives for Information and related Technologies as another framework for managing information technology.  The latest version, CobiT 4.1 consists of 34 high level processes with 320 control objectives.  The framework is made up of four domains:

Planning and Organization

  • Acquisition and Implementation
  • Delivery and Support
  • Monitoring and Evaluation.


The domains cover the many aspects of IT Service Management.  Plan and Organize focuses on determining how information technology can be used to achieve the goals and objectives of the company.  Identifying the requirements for IT and implementing the technology to meet those requirements is the function of the domain Acquisition and Implementation.  The delivery of IT services is handles through the processes and objectives of Delivery and Evaluation while the assurance methods are the concern of Monitoring and Evaluation.


The CobiT 4.1 framework goes further than most IT Service Management frameworks by identifying how people, applications, information, and infrastructure can be used to support delivery of IT services according to Information Criteria.  The criteria consist of seven main objectives:  effectiveness, efficiency, confidentiality, integrity, availability, compliance, and reliability.  The intention of these objectives are to provide paradigms to view the tools and technologies required to fulfill IT Services.

Categories: News